Freeks Review

Freeks by Amanda Hocking – 4/5 stars

“That’s when I realised the chill wasn’t coming from outside—it was coming from within me.”

Thank you so much Macmillan Australia for sending me a copy of this book to review! I am so grateful to be apart of the blog tour!

Synopsis:

In a world of magical visions and pyrokinesis, Mara just wants to have a normal life. But is that possible?

Mara has become used to the extraordinary. Roaming from place to place with Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Carnival, she longs for an ordinary life where no one has the ability to levitate or predict the future.

She gets her chance when the struggling sideshow sets up camp in the small town of Caudry and she meets a gorgeous local guy named Gabe. But before long, Mara realises there’s a dark presence lurking in the town that’s threatening the lives of her friends. She has seven days to take control of a power she didn’t know she had in order to save everyone she cares about—and change the future forever.

My review:

Going into this book I was very excited as I’ve read the Trylle Trilogy and the Kanin Chronicles by Amanda Hocking and loved them so I had very high expectations for this one! I thought that the overall story of Freeks was very interesting and intriguing and it kept me hooked to the pages. It didn’t exceed my expectations but I still enjoyed it.

Two things which I absolutely loved about this book was the carnival aspect and the time period which the book took place in. Freeks is set in the 1980’s. I liked how Amanda Hocking had used several references of bands, singers and movies, which were from the 80’s in the book. I thought the references made the book more fun and interesting!

The characters were easy to get used to and understand their personality. Even though at the start of the book many characters from the carnival got introduced to you all at once I thought that it was easy to get to know all of them as the book progressed and tell the difference between the characters.

Mara, the main character is very unique and interesting to read about. She has many characteristics, which a normal person has; she is very friendly, loyal, brave and caring. Mara thought through all of her actions very well and made good decisions which didn’t annoy me. To me this made her seem more real and relatable as a character.

The only problem, which I had with this book, was the ending and Mara’s powers. To me the ending of the book seemed quite rushed and the plot was resolved too fast. I also felt like Mara’s powers weren’t explored as much as I hoped they would be.

Overall I really enjoyed reading this book. It was very fast paced and fun to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading young adult, fantasy mystery, paranormal and romance books! It was released on the 31st of January 2017 so you can order your copy at Book Depository, Amazon, Booktopia or from Macmillan.

Thank you to my sister Alicia for reading and reviewing Freeks. 

Leave a Reply

