The Sun is Also a Star Review

The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon- 5/5 stars

“I didn’t know you this morning, and now I don’t remember not knowing you.”

Thank you so much to Penguin Australia for sending me a copy of this to review. I am so grateful as this was one of my most anticipated books of the whole year as I loved Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon, so much!

Synopsis on back of book: 

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

My Review:

The Sun is Also a Star is a book that is perfect if you are looking for a fast and fantastic read. It is full of cute, sad, happy, educational and real life moments. It is a great book to open yourself up to reality and that people in the world actually face the problems Natasha and Daniel faced in this book. It is a very realistic book and a great way to educate young readers on the issues in the book.

Natasha was a very well written character. Yoon was able to make a difference between the POV’s of Natasha and Daniel. It was easy to distinguish who I was reading about without looking at the chapter name. This was really good as each POV was unique and their own individual and it made the story flow very nicely.

I loved the whole plot and how they met. I am not going to spoil anything but I am just going to let you know that it was written very well and I don’t think the story had any flaws. This story covered different things from racism to being deported out of a country.  I love, that both families and people in this novel acted the way that they most likely would in this situation in real life.

This book is basically about two teenagers that meet when they are both experiencing difficult adversities in their lives. They form a strong friendship which impacts both of their decisions. They go to interviews with a man called Jeremy Fitzgerald. This is to try and stop Natasha’s deportation and for Daniel to attend a collage called Yale, which he doesn’t even want to go to. Jeremy is in the middle of an affair with his co-worker. He has a wife and children so this plays a big part in the story.

The scene where Natasha and Daniel are singing to ABBA was perfect and one of my favourite moments. I love it how Daniel says what he thinks about Natasha.

“Her singing is earnest and heartfelt and completely awful.
It’s not good.
At all.
I’m pretty sure she’s tone-deaf. Any note she does hit is purely coincidental.”


It is like they have been best friends forever and nothing can separate them.

The ending of this book made me cry but I was also equally happy. It shows the reader that any positive comment to any person can change their whole mental state and even make them feel special. I loved the ending of this book and I think Nicola Yoon might have just beaten my favourite contemporary. Everything Everything was my favourite contemporary and now I think I have a tie. Both of her books are amazing and I think everyone should pick them up as I am sure you will love them.

I have to say my favourite part of the whole book is when the title was mentioned.

“Most poems I’ve seen are about love or sex or the stars. You poets are obsessed with stars. Falling stars. Shooting stars. Dying stars.”
“Stars are important,” I say, laughing.
“Sure, but why not more poems about the sun? The sun is also a star, and it’s our most important one. That alone should be worth a poem or two.”

I definitely recommend this book to everyone as I think is great in terms of education about different things that happen in real life.  If you are interested in this book you can purchase it from Book DepositoryPenguinBooktopiaAmazon and more. Thank you for reading my review! Please give it a like and please let me know if you have read any Nicola Yoon books and what you though of them. (:

Leave a Reply

