Stealing Snow Review

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige- 5/5 stars

“First kisses sometimes wake slumbering princesses, undo spells, and spark happily ever afters.

Mine broke Bale.”

Thank you to Bloomsbury Australia for sending me a copy of Stealing Snow to review. I am very grateful to be given this opportunity. 

Synopsis credit to Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent her life locked in Whittaker Psychiatric—but she isn’t crazy. And that’s not the worst of it. Her very first kiss proves anything but innocent…when Bale, her only love, turns violent.

Despite Snow knowing that Bale would never truly hurt her, he is taken away—dashing her last hope for any sort of future in the mental ward she calls home. With nowhere else to turn, Snow finds herself drawn to a strange new orderly who whispers secrets in the night about a mysterious past and a kingdom that’s hers for the taking—if only she can find her way past the iron gates to the Tree that has been haunting her dreams.

Beyond the Tree lies Algid, a land far away from the real world, frozen by a ruthless king. And there too await the River Witch, a village boy named Kai, the charming thief Jagger, and a prophecy that Snow will save them all.

My Review:

I know many people did not like this book, but in my opinion this was such a great book. This is one of the books that I love. Fantasy is my preferred genre, particularly fairytale retellings. I just clicked with this story. It was a book I could read very fast and just enjoy. 

I haven’t read anything else by Danielle Paige but after reading this book I think I will be interested to read her other books. Stealing Snow just started off so well and kept going through the whole book. I loved all the characters and plot twists. 

The concept of it being a fairytale retelling of the snow queen was very well done by the author. I saw elements of the original tale and also elements of frozen. It all fit together nicely and all the characters were very well developed. I loved Algid. It was a perfect world to escape reality and it reminded me a lot of Narnia.

As I mentioned before, it was similar Frozen. I know some people love Frozen and some people don’t. I love Frozen so it was easy to fall into this world. I don’t think you have to be a Frozen fan to like this book but it will definitely help.

There is a four way love triangle present in this book. There is not a definite romance but Snow is close to three men. I wasn’t even able to choose my favourite. They were all really well written characters and we got to know most of them very well. 

Snow was a very relatable main character as she was being dragged into the world not knowing what she is capable of. She is finding out who she is and what she can do. In this book she has so many important choices to make. She handles situations very well and I was happy to see that in her character.

Overall this book really stood out to me. It was a quick and fun fantasy read. It is something you would read if you wanted to end a slump or just a read to make you feel happy and to get you away from reality.

I read both of the novellas also. I’m just going to let you know it doesn’t matter if you read the novella: before the snow, before you read stealing snow. But I would recommend to read the other novella Queen Rising after reading Stealing Snow. I read Stealing Snow first the Before the Snow then Queen Rising. That order worked really well for me because after reading Stealing Snow there was a cliffhanger. It was great that I was able to go back into the world with the two novella’s.

I definitely recommend fantasy lovers to read Stealing Snow especially fans of Frozen and people who love fairytale retellings. You can order this book from Book Depository, Amazon, Bloomsbury, Booktopia etc.

One Comment Add yours

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    I wasn’t a big fan of Stealing Snow but it sure did have its perks. Like that beautiful cover 🙂 And didn’t seen most of those plot twists coming! Usually I see them but this time I didnt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

