Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

“Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.” 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany – 5/5 stars

Thank you so much to Hachette Australia for sending me a copy of this to review, you don’t know how grateful I am to be given the opportunity to review this amazing book.

Funny story, I actually bought a copy on the 31st of July and didn’t know I was receiving a review copy, so now I have two. Just letting you know this review is going to be spoiler free.

It is Harry Potter. I read it in 4 hours. I loved it so much. I had to rate it 5 stars. Of course it wasn’t perfect, It was a play and I was ready to not compare it at all to the other books as it is an entirely different format. It will not be as descriptive or magical as the previous 7 books because it is a play and they leave all the magic for the performance of the play. That doesn’t mean it won’t be a great story that amazes most people. I am praying that this play will end up travelling worldwide as it would be a dream come true to watch this magic come to life.

I know some people are wondering if the play format is hard or easy to read. Let me tell you It took me a few pages to get into it but by a quarter of the way through I just flew through the script. I enjoyed it the whole way through and didn’t struggle reading it in play format.

In my opinion the plot was well thought out like any other Harry Potter book. The start had connections with the end and it all fit together really nicely. Some parts of the plot seemed a little too much like fan-fiction for my liking but as the story kept going it redeemed itself. One thing that happens in the story, I thought “oh, yeah that could’ve happened at this point in the Harry Potter series.” I know some people thought the whole thing seemed like fan-fiction. I don’t think it did. J.K Rowling wrote it with the help of Jack Thorne and John Tiffany. It was professionally written, the eighth novel. It isn’t fan-fiction.

I’ll talk about the old characters first, then dive into the new ones. I absolutely love it, that while reading the book I could picture the movie in my head with all the movie Harry Potter characters. For me Harry wasn’t acting like he did in the seven harry potter books while he was growing up. I guess that is because growing older in a ministry job he has a lot of stress and it might have changed him. With Hermione and Ron, I love them so much and I am so happy there were so many Romione moments. They made the book even more perfect. With Ginny, she lost her humour from the book. To me she was portrayed more like movie Ginny than book Ginny. I’m guessing that is because she has grown up and is now a mother so she has changed a lot. Time to talk about Draco. He was a little too nice for my liking. But once again I’m guessing it is because of raising a child and having a family that he loves. Overall the characters that returned made me very happy as I got to see them all grown up and see what the affect of raising a family and the stress of adult life had on them.

The new characters are perfect editions to the story. I am just going to talk about Albus, Scorpius and Rose. Albus was reminding me so much of Harry when he was growing up and it was so special to read something like this again. He was annoyed with his life and wanted it to change, just like Harry was with the Dursely’s. With Scorpius, I loved how he was a little nerdy and just wanted a friend. He was a perfect edition to the book and I loved getting to know his character as the story progressed. At the start of the book Rose came in and was being bossy like Hermione. I loved this as it gave me back some memories of the first time I saw/read Hermione meeting Harry and Ron on the train. It was just a perfect addition to the script.

I was very happy with how the whole book turned out. The ending was a fantastic way to wrap up the whole series. Sadly J.K Rowling said in an interview at the premiere of the play that this is the last book in Harry’s world. We were so lucky to get this eighth book as an edition onto the series that changed our lives. I just wish we could get more. I wish we could get a fully written series about Albus’s time at Hogwarts and even a movie series it would be perfect. Harry Potter is just so magical and I am so happy the spirit from all the Potterheads is still here today. I recommend this book to all fantasy fans and all Harry Potter fans. Everyone. Let me tell you. You need to read this.

You can order this from basically any book store. You can order it from Hachette, Book Depository, Amazon, Booktopia etc. Let me know your thoughts on this book below. (:

Leave a Reply

